Unraveling Obfuscation

ob fus cate – 1. to confuse, bewilder, or stupefy 2. to make obscure or unclear

Here in Austin

Posted by Todd McKinney on March 10, 2008

Strange, but true, I’m here in Austin but I’m NOT at SXSW/twitterfest.

It’s not because of some strange weather problems, or a mix up with my badge. It’s because 1) I live here, and 2) I’ve got work to do. Louis Gray mentioned that I might not have quite the posting frequency of even a b-lister, but that is mostly because up ’til now I’ve only been writing for myself. So, now that the big hairy eyeball is pointing this way, what to say?

First, let me say welcome. Anyone besides me who happens to be reading this counts as a new visitor, and I thank you. Second, it’s a crazy world where I’m having a conversation with someone downtown in the city that I live in, linking out to someone in San Francisco and referencing a Canadian blogger all in the space of a few minutes. The world we live in is being compressed by communication that travels at near light speed. Wow.

On the events of today, kudos to Zuckerberg for recovering nicely and winning hearts and minds. The story of Facebook and the brash young CEO is something that is inspirational, even with the dire warnings that accompany the rise of something so inviting and easy to use. I honestly don’t know where I stand on the issue of “evil DNA” as laid out by Umair. There is no doubt that Zuckerberg is a smart guy. There is no doubt that there is mindshare and momentum going for them right now. As I see it, it’s Mark’s game to lose. From where I stand, that’s a pretty good place to be.

If it was me, however, I’d be going over those Umair posts with a fine-toothed comb. I think there’s a large vein of gold in there for someone that’s looking to mine it.

Update: Oops, forgot to include a picture. No respectable blogger would put up a post without one, right???

The conversation that I was trying to engage in with the twitterati – congress avenue birds:

image

One Response to “Here in Austin”

  1. enkerli said

    My situation is actually quite similar to yours. I’m now an Austinite (moved here from Montreal), but I didn’t go to South-by Interactive. And I don’t think I’ll go to the Music part either.
    I did go to BarCamp and I did follow several tweets during this “Spring Break for Geeks.” Entertaining.
    As for dead grackles, it’s one of the most fascinating stories out of Austin (even though they died of natural causes).
    Keep up the good work!
    And let’s start some local blogworthy conversation. Austin, represent!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

