Unraveling Obfuscation

ob fus cate – 1. to confuse, bewilder, or stupefy 2. to make obscure or unclear

Crazy – yep, like a fox

Posted by Todd McKinney on December 17, 2010

I don’t know why this particular theory didn’t occur to me sooner. It does seem that there may be some sense to the general approach that the US has taken in aggressively pursuing draconian IP laws across the globe. I tend to be really strongly against this idea, because it means that we are generally disadvantaged in doing dang near anything creative or innovative. There may be a method to the madness, however…

Travel with me, if you will, to a time and place where all of Europe has suppressed any kind of sharing of any kind of “media”. Extend that a bit further, into India and possibly even China. Get some compliance from Russia, and slam Australia and New Zealand into shape so that only around half their population can even spell wikipedia. Now you’re getting the idea. Slowly, and even possibly never, suggest that the USA also comply with our own stinking, stupid, putrid, brain-dead rules. Allow the legal system to bottleneck things and always keep us “on the cusp” of doing the stupid stuff we make everyone else do. But never actually do it.

We win.

Simple. I don’t know why I didn’t think of this until just now. The only real problem I can see with this plan is that our national production of new Baywatch episodes has fallen to zero. I’m sure that Hasselhoff can be bought, however, if the price is right. There may be no price to high to pull this scheme off.

Leave a comment