Unraveling Obfuscation

ob fus cate – 1. to confuse, bewilder, or stupefy 2. to make obscure or unclear

Just warming up

Posted by Todd McKinney on January 19, 2007

One post down, and I already broke a rule. Just realized that my hello world post did not include any indication of what I plan to write about on this blog. Part of that could be on purpose, since I hadn’t thought much about it yesterday and I didn’t really know. Most of it is because I forgot.

My personal experience is that the types of blogs I truly enjoy reading are usually those that are consistently focused on a topic. Particularly the writing of Jeff Atwood is one of the first examples that comes to mind for regularly delivering something thoughtful and well presented. I’m also somewhat astonished at the consistently useful topics that the dynamic duo (Raymond Chen and Larry Osterman) serve up. I doubt that I’ll come out of the gate with that kind of impact, but it’s nice to have something to shoot for.

With that in mind, I’m going to stick to a couple of closely related ideas. First and foremost, I’m going to write about coding, because it’s what I do. With my recent focus turning to test automation and software releases, expect quite a bit of discussion about software quality and testing. The other bits will be something of a grab bag category – technology. Whether it’s cool gadgets that I find useful, or just something interesting going on in the industry, I’m going to consider it fair game and completely on-topic.

That covers what I will write about, but says nothing of what I will very rarely if ever touch on. I’m not going to spend much time meta-blogging about blogging and bloggers. I’m not going to pour out my innermost feelings and every thought that pops into my head on a daily basis as some sort of outlet for my frustrations (although I have to say that I do find Rory to be really hilarious sometimes). I’m not going to cover politics, or ever say anything about Lindsey Lohan.

Also, I plan to be consistent with the updates. None of this blog going dark for a month or two because I’m busy with something else. At the very least, I’ll put the word out if I’m going to go on hiatus.

Now that we have that nonsense out of the way, let’s get to work. There’s a lot of obfuscation going on out there, and it really is our job to unravel it.

Leave a Reply

 
