Unraveling Obfuscation

ob fus cate – 1. to confuse, bewilder, or stupefy 2. to make obscure or unclear

Some corroborating evidence

Posted by Todd McKinney on May 8, 2007

I’ve really been feeling a little bit bad about publicly questioning the Microsoft strategy in that RIA post a week or so ago. Especially since I didn’t link to any evidence that backs up some of my observations. Rick Segal posted about his experience with his daughter’s computing needs, and the “bonus observation” part really struck a chord:

I asked about back ups. Naah. I asked if she had anything on the old one I needed to recover. Naah, all online between Hotmail, writely, facebook, flickr, and myspace.  19 years of age, folks. In University and basically requires no software, no fancy applications.  Worth thinking about.

It’s not exactly the same topic, but it is related because a Microsoft desktop-centric view of the world doesn’t comprehend the idea of not needing a backup because everything important is online. It’s a question of relevance. I guess I feel less bad now. Thanks for backing me up Rick.

Leave a Reply

 
